ARC Review: On His Watch (Katie Ruggle)

On His Watch is a prequel novella to Ruggle’s “Search and Rescue” series, whose first full-length novel will be released in Spring 2016.

For the most part, I thought it gave a good glimpse about what the series about Field County Rescue Dive Team would be like. Honestly, I have never read stories about SAR diver before — I get a number of firefighters or detectives but never divers — and this novella offered a nice change. It even had a heart-pumping scene of our hero, Derek, rescued a kid who fell through the ice into the cold water. It was quite intense! Not only that, this novella also had missing children and a mountain lion!! So on the action front, Ruggle did pretty well.

However, I wasn’t really sure about the romance… Derek and Artemis used to be a couple, until four years ago when Derek broke up with Artemis and then Artemis married another guy. The thing is, I felt that so many things happened off page, and it was pretty shoved down due to the length (this is a novella after all) and the attempt to find the missing children. I understand that the novella wants to introduce readers to the various characters, but most of the times I got this feeling that I ‘missed’ the process of building up the camaraderie or relationship. These characters knew each other, and then referring to things that I didn’t really know. You know what I mean?

For example, when the girls were missing, and then Derek asked Artemis, “Steve’s girls are missing?” … I thought, “Wait, who’s Steve??” Or when one of the firemen said that his Chief would come later and help the search team because there was “Another arson” … and my mind went directly, “What? Which arson? What was going on? There was arson happening?!?”

It was like that you know … even the cause of Derek and Artemis’ break-up didn’t mention until later on in by way of conversation, and I was a bit struggling to get the reference of them knowing one another before.

Still, it did give me curiosity to know more about these people. So I will stick around to check out the full length novel next year…

RATING: 3 out of 5
3-stars

 

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:

27430562Title: On His Watch

Author: Katie Ruggle
Series: Search and Rescue (# .5)
Genre: MF Contemporary Romance
Length: 84 pages
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (Amazon Link)
Release Date: January 5th, 2016

Leave a Reply

