ARC Review: Tempest (Cari Z)

These days, when it comes to authors whose works I recognize (and usually enjoy), I’m trying a new approach by going blind without even reading the blurb to influence me. I want to know whether I could savor the story better. This is one of the examples. I know of Cari Z’s previous works and when I saw her title being released by Samhain (I believe this is her first title with said publisher), I just clicked the ARC request without even knowing what the story was going to be.

… and I was pleasantly surprised with what I read.

Tempest is a well-told fantasy with a touch of ‘coming-of-age’, at least for me. Because even though Colm, the main narrator of this story, was in his 20 years of age, the story has that personal journey into adulthood feel to it.

In the beginning, Colm starts as an odd one out, a fisherman in a town full of farmers, who feels more at ease with the rhythm of the water. After his father passed away, Colm is told by his stepmother to go to the city because otherwise he will not be happy at his old hometown, especially since he will be expected to marry. And in his journey into the city of Caithmor and settle down there, Colm discovers friendship, a new family, his true heritage, and also love.

I always adore this kind of fairy tale and I thought Tempest did a good job keeping the pace throughout. I was pretty immersed with Cole’s day-to-day life. I found myself guessing about Colm’s heritage and what would happen when people found out. Although I have to admit that sometimes the secondary characters stole the show from Colm and his younger lover, Nichol. But maybe it was also because Colm and Nichol are still trying to find their place in the world, compared to the more experienced secondary characters.

All in all, I loved it. I actually sacrificed my sleeping time very early in the morning to finish reading it. I realize that this might not be everyone’s cup of tea because it is definitely not heavy on the romantic or steamy elements; but if you enjoy a fantasy with characters journey then you might give this one a try.

 

RATING: 4 out of 5
4stars

 

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:

27304319Title: Tempest
Author: Cari Z
Genre: MM Fantasy
Word Count: 107,326 words
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Release Date: April 5, 2016

Leave a Reply

