ARC Review: Sunset in Central Park (Sarah Morgan)

The moment I read how Frankie thought of wearing glasses would help her repel me (so to speak), I was both frustrated and annoyed with her. That scene just stood out because I knew that it would an uphill battle for Frankie to work on her issues. This was just the tip of the iceberg!!

While I knew that it was rooted deep from her father’s betrayal (of him cheating on Frankie’s mom, and then walked out of his family) as well as her mother’s way to deal with it (by breaking other relationships), I was having a hard time connecting to Frankie. She was prickly. She was insecure. And unfortunately, those were dragging the story down and I had a hard time enjoying it. Sure, Matt was probably able to make up for it —  he was this perfect gentleman who was able to ‘fix’ Frankie with twu wuv.

Maybe I was not in the good mood while I was reading this, but really, I wasn’t impressed. It is a bummer because I love friends-to-lovers stories. But I missed the sizzling chemistry and thick sexual tension that usually help me enjoying this theme because yes, friends-to-lovers stories can be boring or dragging or repetitive. Unfortunately, this one falls into that category.

I wasn’t really amused with the appearance of characters from Morgan’s other series as well. I mean, well, it was nice for me, because I read Puffin Island series. So it was catching up with familiar characters. But how about those who don’t read it. If I am one of them, I’m going to be annoyed.

In any case, this series doesn’t work for me. The previous novel (and novella) didn’t entertain me as well. So I will skip on the last book because Eva … yeah, her rose-colored-lenses and optimism about true love grated on my nerves. I am way too sarcastic for Eva.

RATING: 2.5 out of 5
25stars

 

11613309

 

 

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:
29491357Title: Sunset in Central Park
Author: Sarah Morgan
Series: From Manhattan With Love, #2
Genre: MF Contemporary Romance
Length: 384 pages
Publisher: HQN
Release Date: Sept 1, 2016

Leave a Reply

