ARC Review: The Cottage on Pumpkin and Vine (Kate Angell, Jennifer Dawson, Sharla Lovelace)

Halloween in July. Why not? I picked up this anthology from Netgalley because I loved the cover and I was trying these three new-to-me authors a try; like a sample if I want to pick up their full-length available novels. The three stories are intertwined in terms of location: Rose Cottage on Pumpkin and Vine, where legend says that people can find true love when they stay the night.

Charmed by You (Kate Angell): 3 stars

I was trying to figure out where the story was going, and it took me a while to warm up to Grace, the heroine. In fact, I wasn’t really sure about her even until the very end. She was a little bit too perfectionist, too pushy, too bossy for my taste. I am a more laid-back kind of girl, and people like that (not just women) make me exhausted *lol*. BUT, I admit that I saw Grace in a different light when she was with those kids. She was wonderful there, kind-hearted and generous. She wanted the best for the party and well, hats off for her. As for Cade, I wasn’t really convinced with his (slightly) sudden change of heart but they did establish a good connection during the decoration. The cat was awesome, by the way.

Mesmerized by You (Jennifer Dawson) 3.75 stars

While I might be a little unsure with the sense of magic that finally brought Jake and Chloe together, but I thought the story was sweet!! I always love friends-to-lovers trope and this one just made my heart happy and brought HUGE smile to my face when I finished it. Jake and Chloe are quite likeable as characters and it was clear that they belong with one another. When both finally realized that all this time, they might as well already be a couple (but without the sex *lol*) it was adorable.

Enchanted by You (Sharla Lovelace) 4.5 stars

My favorite of the bunch. My heart just exploded with all the feels. And I cried. On the wee hours of the morning when I read this novella. YES, DARN, I cried because it was just beautifully written, using my favorite romance trope ever: second chances. The bulk of this story happened within few days, when Sidney Jensen came to Moonbright to settle a case, and ended up finding out that her old first love, Sawyer Finn, was also there. Despite that, the tension between them was so palpable (AND DELICIOUS).

Twelve years ago, Sawyer broke Sidney’s heart. I think both were never the same, like something was missing. My GOSH I loved these two so much. The angst was done right. The confession and the reconnecting part were also well-written. And the happiness WELL-DESERVED. You know the part where you read romance, and you can feel that the couple is so perfect for one another because after the obstacles they face, you can imagine them living HEA off screen? Yes, that was Sidney and Sawyer for me.

Seriously, if this novella is released separately in the future, I will run and buy it immediately. Now I want to read what other stories Sharla Lovelace have written!

 

RATING: 4 out of 5
4stars

 

11613309

 

 

 

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:


cover93173-medium

Title: The Cottage on Pumpkin and Vine
Author: Kate Angell, Jennifer Dawson, Sharla Lovelace
Genre: MF Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Kensington
Release Date: August 30th, 2016

Leave a Reply

