ARC Review: Take Me Home (Lorelie Brown)

I fell in love with Brown’s writing when I read Far from Home so I decided to also give this one a try.

It’s shorter than the previous book, clocked in around 30,000 words. In that sense, I felt this one was rushed in terms of the relationship progress. Plus I couldn’t help it, I still squeaked when I read the sex scenes! There were pretty long scenes, considering that this was only a novella-length). I wasn’t comfortable with some of the words used, and I guess I prefer reading sex involving men rather than two women *sheepish smile*

However, I was still entranced with Brown’s words — simply put: they were charming. Her characters were wonderful to read, and I enjoyed her humor. The disaster at the Thanksgiving dinner was funny, and I loved the dialog exchanges between Keighley and Brooke.

“There’s something about girls. About women. We’re amazing. Beautiful and special and different and something altogether made of miracles.”

“I like that. Lesbians, made of miracles.”

“Like girl juices are the Gatorade of the sex world.”

Plus there was a CUTE dog here that just took my heart away (I am so easy *lol*). So despite the rushed story, despite my skimming the sex scenes altogether … I guess I still loved this novella for the writing and the characters. It made me smile a lot, it made me happy, and I guess that was all that matters ^^

 

RATING: 4 out of 5
4stars

 

11613309

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:

30848832Title: Take Me Home
Author: Lorelie Brown
Genre: FF Contemporary Novella
Word Count: 29,100 words
Publisher: Riptide Publishing
Release Date: November 7, 2016

Leave a Reply

