ARC Review: Snowbound with Mr. Wrong (Barbara White Daille)

I was interested with the blurb for this one because I am a sucker for the one who got away theme. Plus it is a holiday book. Unfortunately, this book failed to made me believe in the couple or to root for them to get back together.

The story didn’t immediately told readers about the reason why Lyssa and Nick didn’t work. However, after a while, I could conclude that it was because they were too different. Apparently Lyssa loved her small-town, her family, her traditions, while Nick cared more about his job as a troubleshooter (huh, I almost never heard this job description in romance before). He often put his job ahead of her.

And as I further read it, I could feel that … I mean, I didn’t feel the chemistry, the emotional connection between them. It felt as cold as winter snow. This was one relationship in which I thought that the couple was probably better apart because of their differences.

The biggest problem for me was the hero, Nick. From the beginning, from his answers towards the kids as he was roped into being Santa, I thought he was rather rude. It was difficult for me to understand what Lyssa saw in him, that made them involved in a relationship in the first place. I mean, read Nick reaction to when Lyssa was trying to help him with his boot (he hurt his ankle)

“What, having a madwoman trying to amputate my foot with a dull shoestring? Yeah, it hurts like hell.”

You should see my face! What the hell wrong with this guy! Usually, with rude/jerk characters in a romance, we will be presented with ‘layers’, so we could see what shaped the hero (or heroine) to act like so. But I didn’t get this from the book.

The only thing that I loved in this book was the kids. Tommy, most especially, was so adorable. Mollie was sweet, and Brent was a good teenager. Lyssa was rather plain as a heroine, and she didn’t have strong enough personality to get rid of the bad taste in my mouth for Nick’s attitude.

RATING: 2.5 out of 5
25stars

 

11613309

 

 

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:
28644551Title: Snowbound with Mr. Wrong
Author: Barbara White Daille
Series: Snowflake Valley, #1
Genre: MF Contemporary Romance
Length: 193 pages
Publisher: Entangled: Bliss
Release Date: November 7, 2016

Leave a Reply

