ARC Review: Wrapped Together (Annabeth Albert)

Well, it was a nice holiday read. It has the formula of a little Grinch, tons of holiday-extravaganza, and some sexy times.

Unfortunately, I had trouble to form an empathy and rooted for the couple. Despite it being said that Hollis and Sawyer have been friends for almost two decades — get this, Hollis and Sawyer are both sets of twins; in fact Hollis’ twin sister is married to Sawyer’s twin brother! — I felt like I didn’t have enough backstory about the two of them. Interspersed between the present day, where Sawyer was trying to coax Hollis into Christmas spirit, were few flashbacks scenes that I ended up wishing for more.

Instead of that, I got quite a number of kinky sex scenes between Hollis and Sawyer before Hollis pushed Sawyer away, then had an epiphany, and bam! HEA … While I know this will please majority of MM readers, it’s not my cup of tea. I don’t mean that I dislike kinky sex. However, I enjoy reading sex scenes more if I’m invested enough with the characters and their romance leading up to those. And I didn’t get that here, not so much.

I want to understand about Hollis more; I want exploration on his introvert self and his crush for Sawyer over the years. I want more of Hollis’ past with that older guy that most definitely screwed him in the head enough for relationship. There is a huge chance that I can see myself so much in Hollis because I am also an introvert; social scene tires me out, I prefer to have small company to celebrate important events. So the fact that I didn’t get any of this made me disappointed a little.

It’s not a bad one, I’m sure that fans of Annabeth Albert will like this. It’s just not one of my favorites coming from her.

RATING: 3 out of 5
3-stars

 

11613309

 

 

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:

29536941Title: Wrapped Together
Author: Annabeth Albert
Series: Portland Heat, #5
Genre: MM Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Lyrical Shine
Release Date: December 6, 2016

One thought on “ARC Review: Wrapped Together (Annabeth Albert)

  1. Pingback: Release Day Blitz & Giveaway: Wrapped Together (Annabeth Albert) | Out of My Head

Leave a Reply

