ARC Review: The Prince of The Moon (Megan Derr)

** REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILER **

I enjoy Megan Derr’s fairy-tale stories but this one fell short. I adored both Solae and Millio. My heart went out for kind and sweet Solae. I thought their relationship was lovely. The ending most particularly, put a huge smile to my face. They were so cute together! I also loved the twist on how the curse was broken…

Unfortunately, I didn’t like how the ‘bad guys’ didn’t exactly get what they deserved, especially the king. After the way he treated Solae, plus the fact that apparently there might not even an enchanting spell in the first place?? I guess I was disappointed knowing that the curse was broken, and the kingdom was saved, but it drove Solae away from it.

Oh, I know, I know, Solae was happy, he was loved, he could travel with Millio while learning his magic and have an adventure … Yes, maybe it was the better future for him rather than staying at the kingdom, but still I wasn’t completely satisfied with how it turned out for the king. Where is the justice? *pout*

FYI, this story was originally published in Fairytales Slashed 4; I haven’t read that one so I don’t know if there is something essentially changed from the first edition.

 

RATING: 3.5 out of 5
35

 

11613309

 

 

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:

Title: The Prince of the Moon
Author: Megan Derr
Genre: MM Fantasy / Fairy Tale
Length: 30,000 words
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Release Date: January 9th, 2017

Leave a Reply

