ARC Review: Soothsayer (Cari Z.)

Sören stared at me, eyes wet, his fingers digging too hard into my back. I loved it, every bit of it. I felt like I could breathe again, like my heart was really beating for the first time since I’d seen him last…

 

Cillian Kelly is a soothsayer: he sees into people’s eyes and he can see their fates. Ability that gets Cillian into trouble sometimes — he is blacklisted at Vegas for example. Few years ago, Cillian was kidnapped by order of the head of a powerful Icelandic family, Ólafur Egilsson. He was requested to break a geas that runs in the family.

Cillian was able to escape after one of the Egilsson’s sons, Sören, pretty much sacrificed himself. Cillian thinks that all this time Sören is dead. Then a newspaper article surfaces with proof that Sören might still be alive. It might be time for Cillian to do penance for what he did to Sören…

 

Well … Cari Z. did it again. For the last several books, when I picked up Cari Z.’s titles, I knew I would be in for a ride. I might not know where the story would take me but it never failed to entertain.

Soothsayer is no different. I might be wondering what Cari Z was up to when I started reading. But when things start to unravel for Cillian the moment that he was reunited with Sören, the pace went one step higher. The last quarter of the book was nail-biting!!

I don’t know if I can say much without spoiling things. I believe that Soothsayer is best savored from beginning to end without too many clues. Because matters relating to how Sören is still alive is mostly the core of this book. It was a great element of urban fantasy. I really enjoyed it — even if it also contributes to the the ending being a little unconventional if you see it from straight-up romance perspective.

Bottom line, Cari Z. offers combination of action-suspense, road trip (with bad guys chasing), humor (oh yeah, there are moments that made me smile widely! Watch out for adoration to waffles *lol*) and urban fantasy in Soothsayer. And I loved it!

 

RATING: 4 out of 5
4stars

 

11613309

 

 

The ARC is provided by the NineStar Press through IndiGo for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:

 

33760273Title: Soothsayer
Author: Cari Z.
Genre: MM Urban Fantasy
Word Count: 68,200 words
Publisher: NineStar Press
Purchase Links: Amazon, Barnes & Noble
Release Date: January 30, 2017

Leave a Reply

