ARC Review: Accepting the Fall (Meg Harding)

I first read Meg Harding’s story a couple of years ago — and I think I have read almost all of them. Personally, I think this is her best work so far. It feels down-to-earth with everyday people and real relationship problems. Not to mention this is a slow burn second chance romance that involves a single father and a kindergarten teacher. Needless to say I am a SUCKER for the tension in this book which I think is written very, very well.

Seventeen years ago when their family were both stationed in Germany, Zander and Cole became a couple. However, Zander determined to never let anybody close, because they all leave in the end, so he broke things up with Cole. I LOVE the emotional conflicts that happened at present time between the two men. It is clear that the feeling is still there; still strong even if they haven’t seen each other for almost two decades.

I appreciate that Cole doesn’t immediately give in to his feeling once he acknowledged it and accepts that Zander wants to give their relationship a second chance. Cole was hurt all those years ago and he won’t let Zander get away easy. That is where the slow-burn comes from. It takes time for both of them to be together. Not to mention that when this story starts, Cole has a steady boyfriend.

In fact, that is probably the major reason for me not being able to rate this book higher. As much as I love complicated love stories, anything that involves third person is not easy for me to read. I hate seeing the other person getting hurt, especially if it’s not their fault.

In between Zander and Cole reconnecting there is of course Zander dealing with his daughter. I like kids in my romance, but Savanah isn’t an easy child in the beginning. It does give a perfect excuse for Zander and Cole to keep line of communication open but at times I admit that Savanah tries my patience as well *smile*.

There is another angst included near the end in relation to Cole’s  mother. I’m not sure if it’s needed at all, to be honest. However, I’m not too annoyed by it.

The epilogue, by the way, is perfection *sigh*

RATING: 4.25 out of 5

 

11613309

The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:


Title:
 Accepting the Fall
Author: Meg Harding
Genre: MM Contemporary Romance
Length: 286 pages
Publisher: Oceanside Press
Purchase Link: Amazon US, Amazon UK
Release Date: June 8, 2017

Leave a Reply

