ARC Review: Blood Gamble (Melissa F. Olson)

When Dashiell, the vampire cardinal of Los Angeles hears about vampires having blatant show-off stage show in Las Vegas, he “convinces” Scarlett Bernard to do a little spying. Then Scarlett learns that vampires seem to be missing after attending the show and there might be hunters in Las Vegas killing them…

Honestly, I wasn’t a lot happy with Scarlett in this book — which is a bit disappointing because the previous one, Midnight Curse, rocked my socks off. I felt that she was acting slightly brashier; although maybe it was because Scarlett was manipulated to go a city she hated.

The case itself was okay but it wasn’t gripping as the previous book (that involved Molly!). Since this was set in Las Vegas, it didn’t exactly involved any of the L.A. characters that I care about. Sure, I liked Wyatt, a Las Vegas vampire who asked Scarlett’s help, but the rest of the secondary characters didn’t stand out for me. OH, but Scarlett met Sashi here, the healing witch who is also Lex Luther’s friend from Boundary Magic series. I like it when characters are doing cross-over.

What let me down the most was the sudden development with Jameson, a null she once met in New York (I think it was back in Trail of Dead, second book of the first trilogy). While I don’t particularly read this series for the romance but I can’t help guessing Scarlett’s possible love interest. For a while I think it will be Jesse since he has been there since the beginning, plus he has his own POV in this series. But I’m fine if Scarlett ends up with someone else.

But Jameson?! He is a blip on my radar, so the romance comes out of nowhere! It also a bit distracting from the main case of missing (and possible murdered) vampires. On top of that, I could see how this was used by Olson to introduce a HUGE plot in the end that would influence the rest of the series greatly (or at least the next Scarlett book) and I am still a bit ambivalent about it. On one hand, if is NOT the type of drama I like, feels like a ‘cheap shot’. On the other hand, I can’t help to think HOW it will play out. I’m quite invested in finding out…

PS: I missed Jesse terribly in this book. And Shadow too.

RATING: 3.5 out of 5

 

11613309

 

 

The book is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.

 

BOOK INFO:
Title: Blood Gamble
Author: Melissa F. Olson
Series: Disrupted Magic, #2
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Length: 300 pages
Publisher: 47th North (Amazon Publishing)
Release Date: July 25, 2017

Leave a Reply

